Disabling Troublesome UAC Prompts in a Windows Server Environment

Disabling Troublesome UAC Prompts in a Windows Server Environment

Shamrock Solutions performs many ECM upgrades and occasionally encounters various issues with access, User Account Control, and other items that may cause some roadblocks in an ECM project. Our hope is that providing the information contained herein will help alleviate some of those issues and help prepare your organization for an optimal project from start to finish.

In a Windows Server environment, User Account Control (UAC) often presents issues when performing installations for Perceptive Content and its components.  A user being prompted to enter credentials when attempting to run an executable can be time-consuming and bothersome.  In some of these cases, even though a user may have administrative access, their credential set is not always accepted when entered into the UAC dialog box. Additionally, simply turning off UAC may not simply bypass this dialog box. This popup also creates a problem as working credentials need to be entered every time an action happens, such as installing a software component or making changes to some folder properties, etc.

To “turn off” this troublesome dialog box, log into the Windows Server with an administrator-level account that is not affected by this popup, which may be completed by an individual in the I.T. department with full administrative access.  The affected user should be added as an administrator within UAC by following the below steps:

  1. Navigate to Start -> Control Panel -> User Accounts -> Manage User Accounts

 

2. In the User Accounts dialog box, select ‘Add’

 

3. In the Add a User dialog box, enter the user account you would like to give access to.

4. Select ‘Next’ and select the option for ‘Administrator’

 

5. Click ‘Next’ and ‘Finish’ to close out the dialog box.

 

Now, when an executable is run, the user added should not be prompted for credentials and can run installations normally.  Once done, the user can be set back to a standard user using the same steps above.  This will ensure that a user will be able to quickly and efficiently complete installation or other administrative tasks on a Windows Server environment.

 

-Jeff Jones

No Comments

Post A Comment